Skip to main content

We are celebrating 20 years of science impact


Next Generation Leaders

Emerging and diverse leaders in neuroscience

Emerging neuroscience leaders

The purpose of the Next Generation Leaders Council at the Allen Institute is to formally recognize the importance of fresh and innovative contributions from scientists at early stages of their careers.

By selecting emerging leaders to participate in the Next Generation Leadership Council, we foster professional development by providing opportunities and informal training on how to serve as scientific advisors. The Next Generation Leaders gain direct experience with the model of collaborative team science embraced at the Institute, and act as Institute ambassadors with academic and industry colleagues.

Past Next Generation Leaders

Eiman Azim, Ph.D. | Salk Institute
Andre Berndt, Ph.D. | University of Washington
Renata Batista Brito, Ph.D. | Albert Einstein School of Medicine
Aparna Bhaduri, Ph.D. | University of California, San Francisco
Denise Cai, Ph.D. | Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Mark Cembrowski, Ph.D. | University of British Columbia
Jerry Chen, Ph.D. | Boston University
Eva Dyer, Ph.D. | Emory University
Jennifer Garrison, Ph.D. | Buck Institute for Research on Aging
Lisa Giocomo, Ph.D. | Stanford University
Viviana Gradinaru, Ph.D. | California Institute of Technology
Michael Halassa, M.D., Ph.D. | The Neuroscience Institute, New York University
Mark Harnett, Ph.D. | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Keith Hengen, Ph.D. | Washington University in St. Louis
Alexander Huth, Ph.D. | University of Texas at Austin
Christina Kim, Ph.D. | Stanford University
Jens Kremkow, Ph.D. | Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Scott Linderman, Ph.D. | Stanford University
Michael Lodato, Ph.D. | University of Massachusetts Medical School
Simona Lodato, Ph.D. | Humanitas University
Evan Macosko, M.D., Ph.D. | Harvard Medical School
Andrew Miri, Ph.D. | Northwestern University
Richard Naud, Ph.D. | University of Ottawa
Tomasz Nowakowski, Ph.D. | University of California, San Francisco
Lucy Palmer, Ph.D. | The Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health, University of Melbourne, Australia
Catherine Peña, Ph.D. | Princeton University
Ueli Rutishauser, Ph.D. | Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Krishanu Saha, Ph.D. | University of Wisconsin-Madison
Neville Sanjana, Ph.D. | New York Genome Center & New York University
Benjamin Scott, Ph.D. | Boston University
Nick Steinmetz, Ph.D. | University of Washington
Emily Sylwestrak, Ph.D. | University of Oregon
Maria Antonietta Tosches, Ph.D. | Columbia University
John Tuthill, Ph.D. | University of Washington
Michael Yartsev, Ph.D. | Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute, University of California, Berkeley
Eric Yttri, Ph.D. | Carnegie Mellon University