Staff Profiles

Sarah Naylor, Ph.D.

Sr. Scientific Program Manager

Sarah Naylor joined the Allen Institute in 2016 and currently serves as the program manager for the Allen Institute MindScope Program. This program explores how the brain processes distinct features of the visual world by recording the activity of different cortical areas and their composite cells in individual animals as they perform visual tasks. Following a postdoctoral fellowship at the National Institutes of Health, she worked in the Office of Autism Research Coordination at the National Institute of Mental Health. This team is tasked with managing cross-agency autism spectrum disorder (ASD) activities, programs and policies and works with scientists, the public and those in the ASD community. As a AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow, Naylor worked to measure the outcomes and impacts of the National Science Foundation’s investments in Engineering research. 

Most recently, she served as a Science Officer for the Department of Defense’s Congressionally Directed Medical Research Program (CDMRP) administered by the US Army. Naylor managed grants across a broad range of biomedical research ranging from basic science to clinical trial awards. She received her Ph.D. in Developmental Biology from Washington University in St. Louis studying synaptic development in Drosophila earned her B.S. in Bioengineering from the University of Illinois.

Selected Publications View Publications

Survey of spiking in the mouse visual system reveals functional hierarchy

January 20, 2021

Siegle JH, Jia X, Durand S, Gale S, Bennett C, Graddis N, Heller G, Ramirez TK, Choi H, Luviano JA, Groblewski PA, Ahmed R, Arkhipov A, Bernard A, Billeh YN, Brown D, Buice MA, Cain N, Caldejon S, Casal L, Cho A, Chvilicek M, Cox TC, Dai K, Denman DJ, de Vries S., Dietzman R, Esposito L, Farrell C, Feng D, Galbraith J, Garrett M, Gelfand EC, Hancock N, Harris JA, Howard R, Hu B, Hytnen R, Iyer R, Jessett E, Johnson K, Kato I, Kiggins J, Lambert S, Lecoq J, Ledochowitsch P, Lee JH, Leon A, Li Y, Liang E, Long F, Mace K, Melchior J, Millman D, Mollenkopf T, Nayan C, Ng L, Ngo D, Nguyen T, Nicovich PR, North K, Ocker GK, Ollerenshaw D, Oliver M, Pachitariu M, Perkins J, Reding M, Reid D, Robertson M, Ronellenfitch K, Seid S, Slaughterbeck C, Stoecklin M, Sullivan D, Sutton B, Swapp J, Thompson C, Turner K, Wakeman W, Whitesell JD, Williams D, Williford A, Young R, Zeng H, Naylor S, Phillips JW, Reid RC, Mihalas S, Olsen SR, Koch C